Alabama--Executive Department

Operating at the state level, the Alabama Executive Department was established by Article IV of the Alabama Constitution (1819) on July 5, 1819 and is headed by the Office of the Governor. All agencies and offices within the Department are subordinate to the Governor. The Alabama Executive Department consists of a governor, lieutenant governor, attorney-general, state auditor, secretary of state, state treasurer, commissioner of agriculture and industries, and a sheriff for each county. (Avalon Project-Alabama: Constitution of 1819; Alabama Department of Archives & History)

Read more about Alabama--Executive Department at